New arrival - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu New arrival - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu

New arrival

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Alenka

22 Augustus 2016 | Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka

Two days ago I wasn't feeling that good. I had some stomach problem and the mahouts gave me a cold..
I went to the safari in the morning to talk to upali about the guy that would clean the toilet at the disabled home. Upali was a great help and arranged that the guy would meet me and amarasiri in town that morning. So we went into kegalle and together with this guy we went to the disabled home. He said he would be able to clean it the next day for a cheap price. After this we went for lunch at Amarasiri's house. I went to the safari after to hang out with the mahouts. Lakmal decided to shave off his beard at only keep a moustache. He really looks like a creepy dude now. Manju said he could drive to the airport to pick up my mother. Yesterday I woke up and did some work on Amarasiri's project before playing with the kids. At 10:30 Manju came to go to the airport. Amarasiri joined us only to the disabled home and then it was just me and Manju. The poor guy didn't sleep cause he was also working the whole night. We talked a little on the way and it was actually really nice. At the airport we parked and I went to get my mother. I had to buy a ticket to get inside the airport which I didn't know so I had to walk back and because of this I was a little late cause my mom was already standing there looking lost. We went to the car where manju fell asleep. We went on our way and stopped for something to drink somewhere. We stopped at the hotel where my mom got off and she went to take a nap. I went back to amarasiris house and went to the neighbours in the evening to pick up my stuff and say goodbye. I gave them a present for the staying and now they gave me a beautiful present back. They told me to come back with my mother. I went to the hotel for a shower and after we went for dinner at Amarasiri's house and my mom got to meet Delani and the kids. The kids already like her more than me so that's good (I guess). Today I got up at the usual time  (6 o clock). My mom was still sleeping. After breakfast me and amarasiri went to kegalle to get the materials for the bathroom in the disabled home. We went there and the materials would be brought with a tuctuc  within an hour. At the disabled home a viewed the last things that were done and we waited for the tuctuc. The tuctuc  came and the driver tried to rip me off.  He probably saw the white skin and he asked 500 rupees (we usually pay 150 or 200 max). He said it was really dangerous or something because of the materials but it was bull and I refused to give him more than 300. After this we went back to kegalle, to the bank for amarasiris project.  The manager of the bank was not there so we have to go back tomorrow. We had lunch and my mom loves the food that Delani makes (which is truelly the best food ever). After lunch we went to pinnawala so my mom could see all the elephants from the orphanage walking to the river. My mother was getting way to close  to the elephants eve though I told her to stand back. We toke the bus back and got off at the safari. It was only sunil karuna Manju and kalu banda today. My mother also met the other people at the safari. Two of my good friends before now don't really talk to me and they also didn't engage with my mother today... I really don't know why.
It was really nice with the mahouts. My mom got a ride on manika with manju which was really nice. We tried to give them a tip after the ride (which is customary as a tourist) but they wouldn't take any money from me or my mom. It again confirms that the mahouts truelly see me as there friend too. It makes me happy :)
We also agreed to go see a Perahera festival in another town in 4 days with manju and amarasiri. After the safari we went back and had tea at amarasiri. For dinner we had hoppers but my mother doesnt like it as much as rice and curry.
Every evening i get called by my friends (mahouts) Everybody has my number now and they call me in the evening when they have been drinking. Even though they don't speak english and I don't speak singalees we sort of manage to talk a bit haha. I enjoy their late night calls even though I have no clue what we are talking about xD

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Alenka

I am a 22 year old biology student. After more than 3 years I am finally going back to Sri Lanka to help my friends there.

Actief sinds 13 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 218
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33923

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Juli 2016 - 03 September 2016

Back to Sri Lanka

06 April 2013 - 02 Juni 2013

8 weeks Sri Lanka

21 Augustus 2012 - 01 Oktober 2012

Bonaire en Amerika

17 Juli 2012 - 16 Augustus 2012

On The Rails

Landen bezocht: