Work work work - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu Work work work - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu

Work work work

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Alenka

07 Augustus 2016 | Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka

The last few days were so busy and little bit a blur. I don't really remember exactly what happened when haha. It has been a lot of 'tomorrow, day after tomorrow' when I asked amarasiri when  the workers will start the work at the disabled home. But today is a good day because finally the workers are starting! The process here is a little bit different than in Europe.  When you need some work done you have to find people to do the job and then you have to provide them with all the materials. Everyday you pay the workers a part of the money because they are poor and need money to buy food each day. You also buy their lunch for them.  So in the last few days we (amarasiri and me) arranged a lot of stuff. First we got sand and cement that they need for the building. We went to a worker that can make a door and told him what to do. He told us it would be finished the next day but this is already day three. It should be really finished today. After this (yesterday) we went with a guy (contractor) to the disabled home in the morning and he took all the measurements for the new floor.  This guy seemed really nice because he gave me a big discount on the labour pay. 80000 rupees which is about 500 euro. I have actually gotten an discount on everything until now. Amarasiri always explains the people that I have raised this money and that we are making a donation to the disabled home. We bought the tiles for the new floor and we bought more cement and wood for the building. Every day we are busy from 7:30 till 3 in the afternoon. Every afternoon I walk to the safari and see my friends there. I talked to amarasiri about how the mahouts helped me 3 year ago because they just accepted me as I am and I hung out with them every day. I never had a chance to explain their importance to me because they don't understand me when I try to explain. Amarasiri will come to the safari today (if we have time) and he will explain them. I really enjoy  my time with the mahouts. They are just to funny. There are 2 new mahouts which are also really nice to me.

It is 8 in the morning now and I am waiting on amarasiri who went to his accommodation because tonight he has to pick up two volunteers that are arriving for 1 week. I am a little bit nervous about this because it means that amarasiri will be busy and I will have to arrange stuff alone. I just really don't know how because nobody speaks English here...
We will see how it will go.

By now everybody in the area knows me haha. I am the white girl that goes around with the locals. The only thing I really don't like is how everybody stares at me. I walk somewhere, get in the bus, just minding my own business and everybody stares at me. Sometimes I really get annoyed by it... I just want to do my thing without everybody looking at me like I am a ghost. I guess I have to deal with it because it is not going to change.


Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Alenka

I am a 22 year old biology student. After more than 3 years I am finally going back to Sri Lanka to help my friends there.

Actief sinds 13 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 317
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33930

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Juli 2016 - 03 September 2016

Back to Sri Lanka

06 April 2013 - 02 Juni 2013

8 weeks Sri Lanka

21 Augustus 2012 - 01 Oktober 2012

Bonaire en Amerika

17 Juli 2012 - 16 Augustus 2012

On The Rails

Landen bezocht: