Reunion with my friends - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu Reunion with my friends - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu

Reunion with my friends

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Alenka

02 Augustus 2016 | Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka

So today was nice. I went to wifi place and I also got a local simcard for calling and Internet.  But as it turns out, the company I bought the sim from does not have signal here where I stay. After this we went to amarasiri his place. Going from the place where I stay to amarasiri his place takes about 1 hour and 3 different busses. So I was thinking that it might be better if I try to find a cheap hotel somewhere near. I am not staying with amarasiri cause he says it is not suitable for me (in other words; the white chick can't handle our living conditions) which might be true but I would have taken the challenge and tried it. (They don't have a shower or toilet. Toilet is hole in the floor and shower is a hose in the backyard). I will look for some place to stay tomorrow. At amarasiri 's place I helped him to answer some emails he got from people that are interested in his project. After that I had a very good lunch. Then I went on my own to the safari, the place where I was last time and spend 7 weeks with these people. Everybody remembered me and came to me. I didn't know who to greet first. I loved seeing Disa, Upul, Upali's  whole family (upali is the owner), sunil, lakmal, kuma, karuna. Still some people to see though because two mahouts work at a different place now and kalu and sanjeeva  were at home. Disa and Upul invited me to their home already and I will go to disa tomorrow. Last time I went to Upuls wedding and now he has 1 year old daughter! All the kids in Upali's family were so big! And lakmal (one of the mahouts) is still so cute! I just love how he smiles at you. I do have a tiny crush on him haha. So nice to see everybody again.

I was actually really worried about going there because there was about 10 kilos less of me when I went last time and they kept telling me how fat I was, I felt awful. I was so worried what they would think of me now. And what I was afraid of did happen, everybody made a comment about how I was 'bigger now'. But somehow I didn't mind it. I guess I understand now that it is different when they tell you this here. In Holland it is seen as an insult but here it is a sign of being healthy  (which is weird because it is not xD). And the most awful question is when they ask you 'how come you fatter now'. Yeah... well because I eat too much?

Amarasiri came to pick me up and we went back to the place where I stayed. It was only 17 o clock and I was already dreading being alone for so long. But at around 18:30 I went down to cuddle one of the cats and the daughter invited me inside. I watched some television with one of the grandsons (5 years) and then I had dinner also downstairs and I just sat there with all of them while the grandson of 5 years did his homework and his little brother tried to hit him with a stick (more like a tree branch).

My night was unfortunately not as good as the first night. The dog of the neighbours woke me up 3 times with his barking. It is 7 am here now. Amarasiri is picking me up in 2 hours to go to the disabled home. I am excited to go back there but at the same time it is going to be hard to see theit living conditions.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Alenka

I am a 22 year old biology student. After more than 3 years I am finally going back to Sri Lanka to help my friends there.

Actief sinds 13 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 184
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33935

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Juli 2016 - 03 September 2016

Back to Sri Lanka

06 April 2013 - 02 Juni 2013

8 weeks Sri Lanka

21 Augustus 2012 - 01 Oktober 2012

Bonaire en Amerika

17 Juli 2012 - 16 Augustus 2012

On The Rails

Landen bezocht: