True friend, or behind the money? - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu True friend, or behind the money? - Reisverslag uit Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka van Alenka Wels - WaarBenJij.nu

True friend, or behind the money?

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Alenka

19 Augustus 2016 | Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka

I have been absent for a couple of days with the blogging. The last few days were actually pretty good. The disabled home work is sort of on hold at the moment because the next thing we want to do is the bathroom but it first needs to be cleaned. One of the toilets  (hole in the ground) is literally overflowing with shit... it is pretty expensive to have it cleaned because nobody really wants to do this kind of work. Apparently there is one guy though that will do it for very little money if you buy him alcohol... pretty sad but it means we have more money left to help people. After the cleaning the bathroom will be retiled etc.

I have been getting closer and closer to the mahouts. I struggle daily with not knowing if people hang out with me because they genuinely like me or they think they can get money from me. But I actually think the mahouts truelly care for me and I know I really care for them. Manju is one of the new mahouts and he is actually the first one that makes me forget about the skin color difference. He just treats me as a friend without having any other intensions and I love it. Lakmal is his cute self everyday and we have nice conversations since his English has gotten pretty good. Sunil and karuna are like me father and grandfather figure and Kalu banda and sanjeeva like older brothers. I have been having some trouble as well... one guy (old, married and has a daughter only 3 years younger than me) send me a message with 'I love you'. I try to avoid him as much as possible at the moment.... 2 days ago I went to colombo in the morning with amarasiri Delani and the kids  it is a 3 hour ride in the hectic busses. One of Amarasiri's daughter always sits with me and sleeps on my lap, pretty cute. On the way there I slept as well. We went straight to the beach where me and amarasiri met up with the guy that is making Amarasiri's website (for is elephant project). We told him what we want to change etc. After this we had lunch and then it was time to swim :). As girls in sri lanka cover their shoulders and legs until their knees, I was wearing a skirt and t-shirt as well.  They just swim in their clothes so I did the same.  Me and amarasiri went in with the kids. The sea was pretty rough but it was so much fun! After this we went about an hour away from colombo to the house of Amarasiri's old friend. It was a really nice house and I even had my own room. We watched the Perahera that night on TV and we saw Kalu banda with the elephant Manika. The next morning we got up very early to go to the visa office because I needed an extension since I am here a little bit longer than a month. We arrived there and it was already so busy..  amarasiri has a friend who has a friend that used to work at that office. So I called this guy and explained to him that I am a friend of his friend and if he could help me. He called another friend of his and she came and helped me with the whole process, she made sure my paper was processed as the first one. I felt a little guilty to all the people sitting there for hours, because I was done in like half an hour.  But I was so happy we were done so fast. We took the bus back to kegalle. In the bus i was sitting next to the window and Amarasiri's older daughter next to me but she was half lying on my lap and sleeping. I was falling asleep as well. This guy came and sat next to us. He was being very friendly, but a little to much I thought. He tried to give me some candy and kept saying I could move some more to his side. I started to fall asleep when I kept feeling his hand touching mine. It could have been an accident but I wasn't feeling at ease. I started to pretend that I was asleep, one eye closed, other open so I could see his hand. I noticed he was purposely moving closer and touching my hand and also with is arm trying to touch my breast. I pretended to wake up and I got angry with him. He got up and sat down i n the back of the bus. Amarasiri and Delani were sitting behind me but they were asleep. When I saw that amarasiri was up I told him what happend. We told the conductor. He didn't seem to be very bothered. I asked amarasiri what he said and he said that he was sitting next to a lady again but that it happens often and they can not do much about it...

I felt really uncomfortable so I didn't sleep the rest of the busride.
When we got off the bus we had lunch at the junction (where the road to randeniya crosses the colombo - kandy road). The guy I asked for help at the visa office started calling me a few times and was texting me with questions. I told amarasiri that I didn't know what to do because if I ignored him he might not help next time I come to sri Lanka.  But amarasiri said I should ignore him and he will find somebody else to help us at the office next time.
After this I went to the safari for some much needed relax time with the mahouts.  We played music and just chilled. In the evening  I had dinner at Amarasiri's and everybody was very tired from our colombo trip so we went to bed early.

Today I worked a little bit on Amarasiri's project in the morning. After that we went to the bank where we informed for another bank account for amarasiri so he can keep the money for his project separate. After this we went to Upali's office (he is in politics) to ask about the guy that will clean the toilet at the disabled home. I was hoping it would be cleaned today but we haven't heard anything so I am hoping it really will be done tomorrow...
We went to the hair dresser for amarasiris daughter and we had lunch at Amarasiri's house. Everyday I am asked what I like for breakfast lunch and dinner. And I just say, whatever is easy for you guys. I already feel so guilty that I am eating at their house everyday so I just want them to make whatever they want. Today they kept asking what my mother will eat when  she comes.  I said I am not sure she will have rice and curry for breakfast but that lunch and dinner she would be fine. I am excited that my mother is coming Sunday.  I can finally share this experience with somebody and she can meet all my friends. After lunch I went to the safari. It was really nice there. This time lakmal bought me tea. Everyday one of them buys me tea, I really feel pampered! I went back to amarasiris house and played a game with the kids and some neighbour kids. Then we had dinner and me amarasiri and Delani had some nice conversations and we laughed. Today was a really good day! Let's hope tomorrow will be the same!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Alenka

I am a 22 year old biology student. After more than 3 years I am finally going back to Sri Lanka to help my friends there.

Actief sinds 13 Juli 2012
Verslag gelezen: 235
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33892

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Juli 2016 - 03 September 2016

Back to Sri Lanka

06 April 2013 - 02 Juni 2013

8 weeks Sri Lanka

21 Augustus 2012 - 01 Oktober 2012

Bonaire en Amerika

17 Juli 2012 - 16 Augustus 2012

On The Rails

Landen bezocht: